What is the situation regarding the 'refugee crisis'?

In 2015, Belgium suffered a major crisis regarding the reception of asylum seekers who had crossed our borders, illustrated by the image of hundreds of them sleeping in precarious conditions in Parc Maximilien in Brussels for several weeks.

So what is the situation in 2016? While the number of arrivals has doubled in 2015 compared with 2014, there is no telling what the migrant influx will be like in 2016, and no-one wishes to speculate on the number of future asylum seekers in Belgium following the recently concluded agreement between the European Union and Turkey.

In addition, the government has decided to close a number of temporary reception centres owing to the recent fall in applications, thus increasing the risk of a lack of available places if there is a mass influx. In any case, our country will certainly continue to see asylum seekers flooding in, fleeing war or persecution, and it will have to honour its international obligations in terms of reception and services as enshrined in the Geneva Convention.

Who are they?

Referred to as refugees by the general public, we must first distinguish an asylum seeker from a refugee and a person under subsidiary protection. An asylum seeker has applied for asylum in Belgium but the authorities haven't yet decided on their fate.

A refugee is someone who has fled persecution based on race, religion, nationality or a social group in their country while subsidiary protection is granted to persons who don't fulfil the conditions for obtaining refugee status but who would nevertheless be exposed to serious harm if they were to return to their country of origin, typically if the latter is at war.
In both cases, Belgium recognises their precarious situation and, on this basis and after analysis of their file, grants them the right to stay in Belgium. Behind these definitions lie tragic stories of families who once led a peaceful life and were forced into exile following the outbreak of war in their country.

Hence, 70 % of refugees or persons under subsidiary protection2 recently recognised in Belgium are from conflict zones (essentially Iraq, Syria and Afghanistan), having left an often endless situation (for instance, according to UNHCR, 86% of Syrian refugees have at least a high school certificate)

While many refugees are men who have left by themselves to "explore", conditions force women and children to also head for Europe and benefit from family reunification: we have seen an increasing number of women presenting themselves as asylum seekers and the number of unaccompanied minors has risen to 8% of the total number of asylum seekers since the beginning of 2016, compared with 3% in 2014; 15 % of them aren't even 13 years old.

How are they received in Belgium?

Between their first step in Belgium and obtaining refugee status, which guarantees them rights and the right to stay in our country, asylum seekers must go through several stages of procedures which involve navigating between Belgian agencies and institutions. Between administrative processes in a foreign language, long procedures, difficult conditions in centres and integration peppered with pitfalls, this process can be arduous and last several years. While Belgium has proven to be a model student in terms of reception in Europe, it could however do better to avoid these stumbling blocks.

Analysis of the process concerning asylum seekers in Belgium by the Groupe du Vendredi

The aim of the Groupe du Vendredi's report is to understand the process people arriving in Belgium today have to go through in order to improve the process for those arriving in the future. It illustrates the typical scenario of a young Syrian man whom we shall refer to as Adnan, who has fled his home town of Aleppo and come to Belgium alone to seek asylum. His age and the humanitarian and security crisis in his country are representative of the asylum seekers currently arriving at our borders. Every stage, from Adnan's arrival in Belgium up to his adaptation to Belgian society as a refugee, illustrates the problems encountered and the possible solutions that public and private stakeholders from civil society, or citizens on an individual basis, could implement. Together, these initiatives can change the lives of new asylum seekers and contribute to a reception and integration model worthy of the values our country claims to defend.

Adnan, one asylum seeker among many others…

Adnan turned 28 last week. He celebrated his birthday with his friends in his home town, Aleppo, the second biggest city in Syria. Adnan teaches history at secondary school level. Although it remained unscathed at the beginning of the civil war in March 2011, Aleppo is now under fire. One day it is the government forces who are dominating the front, and the next day it is the armed rebels who have the upper hand, with the subsequent bombings killing one civilian an hour.

Adnan's childhood friend, Hamed, was hit yesterday. The school has closed for security reasons. Adnan understands that the situation is unsustainable. Following his parents' advice, he collects EUR 4,000, which represents almost a year's salary, to flee the country and go to Europe.

Adnan decides to take the route via Turkey, which seems to be the least perilous. He arrives in Kilis, a border town in Turkey, where 2.7 million other Syrians have arrived before him. Through a smuggler who demands EUR 2,000, he is taken by truck to the Turkish town Izmir, opposite Greece. He stays there for a few days in insalubrious accommodation with other migrants. He is awoken in the middle of the night by his smuggler and told to go to the beach and board an inflatable dinghy, which he has to share with more than 40 other migrants.

He is lucky, the boat arrives safely in Europe, which isn't the case for everyone. He contacts another smuggler through social networks in order to get to Belgium, passing through Macedonia, Serbia, Hungary, Austria and Germany by train and bus, but mostly on foot. Adnan finally arrives in Belgium and wants to seek asylum. His journey lasted three months in total and he risked his life on several occasions. With his profile and according to the statistics, he has an almost 90 % chance of receiving the status of subsidiary protection and a residence permit at the end of the procedures that lie ahead of him. However, there will be a long way to go before obtaining this status.

Discover the trail of Adnan

Qu’en est-il de la « crise des réfugiés » ?

En 2015, la Belgique a connu une crise importante de l’accueil des demandeurs d’asile ayant passé notre frontière, illustrée par l’image de centaines d’entre eux dormant durant plusieurs semaines dans des conditions précaires dans le Parc Maximilien à Bruxelles.

Qu’en est-il pour 2016 ? Si le nombre d’arrivants a doublé en 2015 par rapport à 2014, l’influx migratoire de l’année 2016 est incertain et d’aucuns spéculent sur le nombre de futurs candidats à l’asile en Belgique suite à l’accord récemment conclu entre l’Union Européenne et la Turquie.

Le gouvernement a par ailleurs décidé de fermer certains centres d’accueil temporaires au vu de la baisse récente des demandes, accroissant dès lors le risque d’un manque de places disponibles en cas d’afflux important. Quoiqu’il en advienne, il est certain que notre pays continuera à voir affluer des demandeurs fuyant la guerre ou les persécutions et qu’il devra honorer ses obligations internationales en matières d’accueil et de services telles qu’inscrites dans la convention de Genève.

Qui sont ils?

Si le grand public les appelle réfugiés, il faut d’abord distinguer un demandeur d’asile d’un réfugié et d’une personne sous protection subsidiaire. Un demandeur d’asile a fait une demande d’asile en Belgique mais les autorités n’ont pas encore statué sur son sort.

Un réfugié est une personne qui a fui des persécutions fondées sur sa race, religion, nationalité ou groupe social dans son pays tandis que la protection subsidiaire est accordée aux personnes qui ne remplissent pas les conditions d'obtention du statut de réfugié mais sont toutefois exposées à des atteintes graves en cas de retour dans leur pays d’origine, typiquement lorsque celui-ci est en guerre.
Dans les deux cas, la Belgique leur reconnait leur situation précaire et leur octroie, sur cette base et après analyse du dossier, un droit à séjourner en Belgique. Derrière ces définitions, ce sont des histoires tragiques de familles menant autrefois une vie sereine et forcées à l’exil suite à l’éclatement de la guerre dans leur pays.

Ainsi 70% des réfugiés ou personnes sous protection subsidiaire récemment reconnus en Belgique sont issus de zones en conflits (essentiellement l’Iraq, la Syrie et l’Afghanistan) ayant quitté une situation souvent pérenne (selon l’UNHCR, par exemple, 86% des réfugiés Syrien possèdent un diplôme au moins secondaire).

Si beaucoup de réfugiés sont des hommes seuls partis comme « explorateurs », les conditions forcent les femmes et les enfants à se mettre également sur la route pour rejoindre l’Europe et bénéficier du regroupement familial : on observe un nombre croissant de femmes se présentant comme demandeurs d’asile et la proportion de mineurs non-accompagnés est montée à 8% du total des demandeurs depuis début 2016 contre 3% en 2014 ; parmi eux, 15% n’ont même pas 13 ans.

Comment sont-ils accueillis en Belgique?

Entre son premier pas en Belgique et l’obtention du statut de réfugié lui garantissant des droits et un séjour dans notre pays, le demandeur d’asile suit un parcours en plusieurs étapes au cours duquel il doit naviguer entre les agences et institutions belges. Entre démarches administratives dans une langue étrangère, longues procédures, conditions di ciles en centres et intégration semée d’embuches, ce processus peut se révéler ardu et durer jusqu’à plusieurs années. Si la Belgique se montre bon élève en terme d’accueil en Europe, elle peut toutefois faire mieux pour éviter ces écueils.

Le Groupe du Vendredi se penche sur le parcours des demandeurs d’asile en Belgique

Comprendre le parcours de ceux qui arrivent aujourd’hui pour améliorer celui de ceux qui arriveront dans le futur : c’est l’objectif de ce rapport du Groupe du Vendredi. Il illustre le parcours type d’un jeune Syrien que l’on nommera Adnan, fuyant sa ville natale d’Alep et arrivant seul en Belgique pour demander l’asile. De par son âge et la crise humanitaire et sécuritaire dans son pays, Adnan est représentatif des demandeurs qui arrivent actuellement à nos frontières. Depuis son arrivée en Belgique jusqu’à son adaptation dans la société belge en qualité de réfugié, chaque étape illustre les problèmes rencontrés et des pistes de solution possibles que tant les acteurs publics, privés, issus de la société civile ou citoyens à titre individuel pourraient mettre en œuvre. Conjointement, ces initiatives peuvent changer la vie de nouveaux demandeurs d’asile et contribuer à un modèle d’accueil et d’intégration digne des valeurs que notre pays prétend défendre.

Adnan, un demandeur d’asile parmi tant d’autres …

Adnan a eu 28 ans la semaine dernière. Il les a fêtés avec ses amis dans sa ville natale, Alep, deuxième plus grande ville de Syrie. Adnan est professeur d’histoire dans l’enseignement secondaire. Quoiqu’épargnée au début de la guerre civile en mars 2011, Alep est désormais prise sous les feux. Un jour ce sont les forces gouvernementales qui dominent le front, le lendemain, ce sont les armées rebelles qui reprennent le dessus si bien que les bombardements tuent un civil toutes les heures.

Hamed, l’ami d’enfance d’Adnan, a été touché hier. Pour des raisons de sécurité, l’école a arrêté de tourner. La situation est intenable, Adnan le comprend. Sur conseil de ses parents, il rassemble 4,000 euros, ce qui représente presqu’un an de salaire, pour fuir le pays et rejoindre l’Europe.

Adnan décide d’emprunter la route par la Turquie, qui semble la moins périlleuse. Il arrive à Kilis, ville frontalière en Turquie, où 2,7 millions d’autres Syriens ont débarqué avant lui. Via un passeur qui lui réclame 2.000 euros, il est conduit en camion ver s la ville turque d’Izmir, en face de la Grèce. Il y séjourne quelques jours dans un logement insalubre avec d’autres migrants quand, en pleine nuit, son passeur le réveille pour se rendre sur la plage et embarquer sur un canoé gonflable qu’il partage avec plus de 40 autres migrants.

Il a de la chance, le bateau arrivera à bon port sur le sol européen. Ce n’est pas le cas de tous. Via les réseaux sociaux, il contacte un autre passeur afin de rejoindre la Belgique en passant par la Macédoine, la Serbie, la Hongrie, l’Autriche, et l’Allemagne, en train et en bus, mais surtout à pied. Adnan arrive enfin en Belgique et veut y demander l’asile. Son voyage aura duré au total 3 mois et il y aura risqué sa vie plusieurs fois. Avec son profil et selon les statistiques, il a près de 90% de chances de recevoir le statut de protection subsidiaire et un permis de séjour au terme du parcours qui l’attend. Pourtant, le chemin sera long avant d’obtenir ce statut.

Découvrez le parcours d'Adnan