Key stages in the process Adnan must go through in Belgium, problems and proposed solutions

1
Arrival in Belgium and pre-registration (4 years)

Adnan arrives in Belgium after an arduous journey. He doesn't know where to go. Other Syrians advise him to go to the Immigration Office (IO) to register as an asylum seeker. At the IO, he is "pre-registered", given a number, and his photo and fingerprints are taken. An association's information centre advises him to go to the Samu Social to find a place for the night.

Problems
  • The authorities don't have a dedicated reception desk to receive, inform and guide new arrivals such as Adnan.
  • Despite pre-registration, migrants aren't yet recognised as asylum seekers and don't have any rights in the country, especially with regard to accommodation. The pre-reception structures such as WTC2 and 3 aren't structural, which means that new arrivals may find themselves without any accommodation.
Solutions
  • Overheid
  • Burgers
  • Set up a dedicated reception and structural information desk drawing inspiration from initiatives such as Startpunt organised by Vluchtelingenwerk.
  • Recognise asylum seekers at the pre-registration stage in order to offer them minimum accommodation, for instance, through "buffer" places in Fedasil's structural reception centres.
2
Registration as an asylum seeker (1 day to several weeks)

After three days' wait, Adnan can finally register at the Immigration Office (IO) as an asylum seeker. He is briefly questioned to understand his background and justify his application. He then receives a document giving him the status of asylum seeker4 and the right to stay in a public reception centre. Without consulting him, he is also informed that he will be supported in French but that an Arabic-speaking interpreter will be available.

4This document is Annex 26. If the IO decides that Belgium isn't the first country of asylum or pre-asylum, it asks the first country of asylum to assume or reassume responsibility for the person – Adnan then receives Annex 26 Quater and enters into the Dublin procedure; this can last from 8 months to a year and aims to determine whether he must be placed in a closed centre while awaiting expulsion to his first country of asylum or if he can become an asylum seeker in Belgium.

Problems
  • With registration applications varying significantly in just a matter of months (having quadrupled)5, the IO is struggling to adjust its registration capacity when mass influx occurs.
  • The registration procedure sometimes requires several visits, forcing asylum seekers to come back – which can take several weeks.
  • Asylum seekers can't be accompanied by a lawyer during the so-called "Dublin" interview aimed at determining the country responsible for dealing with the application, even though these are often complex cases.
Solutions
  • Overheid
  • Burgers

Increase flexibility in staff numbers at the Immigration Office, for instance, by training voluntary "reserve" officers who can provide extra support, and by arranging for the office to be open at weekends if necessary, as other European countries have done.

Push for procedures to be grouped together6 and a simplification of the registration procedure.

Improve information for asylum seekers on specialised law firms whose lawyers could attend the "Dublin" interviews with them.

5For instance, in 2015, there were 1,313 applications (first applications and multiple applications) in January, reaching 5,512 in September.

6By this we mean grouping together registration at the IO and the questionnaire that the IO must fill in for the Commissioner General for Refugees and Stateless Persons (CGRS) (see step 4)

3
Staying in a reception centre (4 to 8 months)

Adnan must now register with the Federal Agency for the Reception of Asylum Seekers (Fedasil). He has to undergo a medical examination and then Fedasil will randomly allocate a place in a new centre in the province of Luxembourg.

He goes there and stays several months while awaiting his interview with the Commissioner General for Refugees and Stateless Persons (CGRS). The conditions in the centre are sometimes difficult because he has to share a dormitory with several other asylum seekers. To help him understand the procedure and the status of his file, Adnan is supported by an extremely busy social worker; he can also take language classes. He has to wait four months before he can work, hasn't got much money to go outside the centre (he receives EUR 7 a week) and there are no activities which means that Adnan sometimes sees fights breaking out.

Problems
  • Conditions can be difficult in the centres that aren't managed directly by Fedasil, especially the recently-opened emergency reception centres which have little or no experience in receiving asylum seekers7.7.
  • Assistance is often suboptimal because the social workers and interpreters are overworked, with more files to manage than anticipated (according to standards, social workers should have approximately 40 files).
  • With nothing to do, tensions mount and activities outside the centre are often financially out of reach. Asylum seekers without money are blocked in the centre where "community services" are paid at the rate of EUR 1 an hour.
  • Language classes aren't systematically taught in all the reception centres – this is not part of Fedasil's mission.
Solutions
  • Overheid
  • Burgers

Harmonise the accommodation standards in non-structural centres, especially centres that are opening, and significantly increase the frequency of audits; encourage the conversion of reception facilities into individual reception structures8 ; allow residents to express themselves collectively through a residents' council.

Improve support and help with the integration of asylum seekers, for instance:

  • Increase and make access to language classes systematic, and review their structure to make them immediately useful in the asylum procedure and the future search for employment
  • Subsidise the development or completion of online portals accessible by smartphone, offering general information on the asylum procedure, language classes/translators and integration advice (like the 'Ankommen' application in Germany9))

As is the case in the Netherlands, formalise as a public mission and reinforce

  • informal exchanges such as coaching/mentoring/sports activities between local volunteers and residents from the centres to allow cultural, linguistic and sporting exchanges (like the Singa Langue et Culture or Singa Sports initiative in France)
  • the involvement of associations external to the centres to reinforce social support when necessary, and to deploy training workshops and fun activities
  • Support and deploy an employment platform ("Workeer" in Germany) so that residents from the centres are aware of local job offers and can apply for them as soon as they receive a work permit
  • Increase pay for community services in line with the hourly minimum wage

7The majority of centres meet or exceed international standards and provide several services. However, in some centres that aren't managed by Fedasil, different ethnicities and nationalities, as well as adults and unaccompanied foreign minors (MENA) are put together in the same dormitories, which leads to tensions between communities and vulnerable minors. Sometimes, the notifications for the follow-up of the file don't arrive, there is no social support, contact with lawyers is difficult and basic services (food and shelter) aren't fully guaranteed.

8Individual structures are housing units (apartment, small house) for individual families or individuals allowing asylum seekers to live within a local community and interact with it and thus facilitate their integration.

9The 'Ankommen' application in Germany, launched by the authorities, offers basic language classes, information on the asylum procedure, advice to find a job/vocational training, information on the country's values and social standards, and forums.

4
Interview with CGRS during his stay (1 day to several months)

After 4 months at the centre, Adnan receives notification of his hearing with the CGRS, at 08:30 in the morning in Brussels. He takes the train the night before and sleeps on the street in order to be on time. Adnan is questioned for four hours, with the help of an interpreter, about his origins and his journey to check whether he is eligible for refugee status or subsidiary protection. Once the interview has finished, he takes the train back to the centre. Because the CGRS considers that his statement is incomplete and therefore can't take a decision, he is summoned again by post to come to an additional hearing three weeks later.

Problems
  • File processing times: the time between registration with the Immigration Office and the interview with the CGRS varies between three months and several years depending on the file, due to the massive backlog among other things (6,800 files in December 2015).
  • Managing the notifications: the time of the hearings doesn't take into account the distance between the reception centre and the CGRS. The hearings start late because of double appointments. The asylum seeker can't find any accommodation for the night.
  • There is significant rotation among the protection officers who carry out the hearings, eroding expertise within the CGRS.
Solutions
  • Overheid

Improve management of the CGRS files by establishing a time limit between the first and second hearing and optimising the management of the hearings schedule.

Set up a task force to reduce the structural backlog once and for all.

Inform the asylum seekers and allow them to reside in existing reception centres if they have to spend the night in Brussels before a hearing.

Set up adapted staff management procedures within the CGRS in anticipation of extra workloads and manage departures within the CGRS through anticipation.

5
CGRS decision (1 to several months)

Three months after his second interview, Adnan receives a letter informing him of the CGRS' decision: he has received subsidiary protection status and a temporary residence permit. Adnan is reassured. He asks the centre's social worker how to proceed. He goes to fetch his residence permit from the commune, which takes time because Adnan still has difficulty speaking French. He is also obliged to attend a free integration programme to help him acquire basic knowledge of how Belgian society works. This helps a lot.

Problems
  • The maximum time frame of three months between the last hearing with the CGRS and the decision isn't necessarily respected, sometimes leading to long waiting times.
  • If the CGRS' decision is negative (refusal of refugee status or subsidiary protection), the asylum seeker often submits an appeal via an ad-hoc court: the French-speaking (CCE) or Dutch-speaking (RVV)10Council for Alien Law Litigation. The final decision varies depending on the language used.
  • Whatever the decision, this procedure can be long owing to the backlog of work at the court and the lack of dialogue, coordination and exchange of non-sensitive information (general information on the country, data, files) between the CGRS and these authorities.
  • The language classes – language being the first barrier to integration, aren't compulsory in 11.
Solutions
  • Overheid

Stick to the maximum three-month time limit to pronounce the decision.

Define the interpretation of appeal more strictly to prevent major variations in the outcome of the appeal according to the language used.

Urge representatives from the CGRS and the CCE/RVV to agree on more efficient coordination mechanisms, share the information in the files and grant them the necessary credit provided there is no conflicting information.

Make language classes compulsory in the integration programme in Wallonia and Brussels and adapt them to immediate needs.

1010 De ‘Conseil du Contentieux des Etrangers’ voor de Franstaligen; de ‘Raad voor Vreemdelingenbetwistingen’ voor de Nederlandstaligen.

11De taalopleiding maakt deel uit van de tweede, niet verplichte fase van het integratieparcours in Wallonië.

6
Starting life in Belgium

Adnan is worried: after having received the positive decision from the CGRS, the centre informs him that he has two months to leave the centre and find private accommodation. He is forced to remain at the centre longer than authorised because he isn't able to find any accommodation: he still doesn't speak French very well, has no savings to pay for a rental deposit and doesn't understand how to go about it.

He is told about the CPAS (social services provider), but the latter does not see him as long as he isn't registered as living in the commune. He accepts precarious temporary housing with people he knows in exchange for services. Starting a new life in Belgium is difficult: he isn't familiar with the bases of daily life in Belgium and is resigned to badly paid undeclared jobs.

Problems
  • There is a legal void in support for housing: besides several existing support structures, refugees can neither ask for help from one of the centre's support workers since they are leaving it, nor can they benefit from support from the CPAS because they don't have an official place of residence. And yet the conditions and steps required to find accommodation make access to it almost impossible; hence, refugees spend more time in the centres despite pressure from the latter to leave them.
  • Professional integration is made difficult: foreign diplomas aren't easily recognised in Belgium without certified proof despite the fact it generally takes a long time – or is even impossible – to send this from the country of origin. Companies apply strict criteria with regard to refugees or systematically require them to be bilingual in French and Dutch or have a European diploma, even if the job doesn't require this.
  • There are very few subsidised social and community integration programmes besides the integration programme; and yet, creating social links with the Belgian community allows people to practice the language and find a job more quickly.
Solutions
  • Privé
  • Overheid
  • Burgers

Facilitate the transition from the status of asylum seeker to that of recognised refugee by publishing a "get started kit" in several languages, clarifying the first administrative steps and key resources. It should be included in, but not be exclusive to, the integration programme.

Facilitate the search for housing for refugees by institutionalising and subsidising rental deposit assistance and inviting the CPAS to help look for and access housing even if the refugee isn't yet officially registered as living in the commune; formalise the reception plan in the communes and ensure social support is provided by the CPAS during reception.

Financially maintain a platform for citizens that would arrange for refugees to meet with citizens who would like to offer accommodation, and inform the latter (such as the "Refugees welcome" initiative, the online platforms being developed by associations or the Caritas International housing campaign).

Create or extend a supervised reception network that would allow temporary immersion (maximum six months) for refugees who are badly housed or with no fixed abode (such as the CALM [Comme A La Maison] initiative in France); adopt the gastvrijegemeente.be and Pleegzorg Vlaanderen initiatives in Wallonia and Brussels in order to set up a network of host and support families in the communes.

Raise awareness in companies through the FEB and the VDAB about employing refugees, distribute complete information on job opportunities/mentoring for refugees and deploy platforms such as the VDAB's hiapp.be to put refugees in contact with employers and citizens.

Review the criteria and requirements regarding the recognition of diplomas for refugees, taking into account the situation in the country of origin and the difficulty of obtaining the required proof.

Etapes clés du parcours d’Adnan en Belgique, problèmes et propositions de solutions

1
Arrivée en Belgique et pré-enregistrement (4 jours)

Adnan arrive en Belgique au terme de son intense périple. Il ne sait pas où aller. D’autres syriens lui recommandent de se rendre à l’Office des Etrangers (OE) pour s’enregistrer comme demandeur d’asile. A l’OE, on le « pré-enregistre » en lui attribuant un numéro et en prenant sa photo et son empreinte digitale. Un centre d’information d’une association lui renseigne le Samu Social pour y passer la nuit.

Problèmes
  • Il n’existe pas de guichet d’accueil unique organisé par les autorités pour accueillir, informer et guider les nouveaux arrivants comme Adnan.
  • Malgré le pré-enregistrement, le migrant n’est pas encore reconnu comme demandeur et ne dispose d’aucun droit sur le territoire, en particulier le droit au logement. Les structures de pré-accueil comme le WTC2 et 3 ne sont pas structurelles si bien que les nouveaux arrivants pourraient ne trouver aucun logement.
Solutions
  • Overheid
  • Burgers
  • Mettre en place un guichet unique d’accueil et d’information structurel en s’inspirant des initiatives comme le Startpunt organisé par Vluchtelingenwerk.
  • Reconnaître le demandeur d’asile dès le pré-enregistrement afin de lui offrir un logement minimum, par exemple via des places « tampons » dans les centres d’accueil structurels de Fedasil.
2
Enregistrement comme demandeur d’asile (1 jour à plusieurs semaines)

Après trois jours d’attente, Adnan peut enfin s’enregistrer comme demandeur d’asile à l’Office des Etrangers (OE). Il est brièvement interrogé pour comprendre son parcours et qualifier sa demande. Il reçoit ensuite un document qui lui donne le statut de demandeur d’asile4 et le droit de résider dans un centre public d’accueil. Sans le consulter, « on lui notifie également qu’il sera suivi en français, mais avec un interprète parlant arabe.

4Ce document est l’Annexe 26. Si l’OE décide que la Belgique n’est pas son premier pays d’accueil ou pré-accueil, elle demande au premier pays d’accueil de le prendre ou reprendre en charge – Adnan reçoit alors l’Annexe 26 Quater et entre dans la procédure Dublin ; celle-ci peut durer de 8 mois à 1 an et vise à déterminer s’il doit être placé en centre fermé en attendant son expulsion vers son premier pays de passage ou s’il devient demandeur d’asile en Belgique.

Problèmes
  • Les demandes d’enregistrement variant fortement en quelques mois seulement (dans un rapport de un à quatre)5, l’Office peine à ajuster sa capacité d’enregistrement en cas d’afflux.
  • La procédure d’enregistrement requiert des visites parfois multiples, obligeant le demandeur d’asile à se représenter– ce qui peut prendre plusieurs semaines.
  • Le demandeur d’asile ne peut pas être accompagné par un avocat lors de l’entretien dit « Dublin » visant à déterminer l’Etat responsable du traitement de sa demande, alors qu’il s’agit souvent de cas complexes.
Solutions
  • Overheid
  • Burgers

Accroître la flexibilité du nombre de personnel à l’Office des Etrangers, par exemple en formant des officiers volontaires de « réserve » pouvant venir en soutien et en prévoyant des jours d’ouverture le week-end en cas de besoin à l’instar d’autres pays européens.

Pousser à un regroupement6 et une simplification de la procédure d’enregistrement.

Améliorer l’information des demandeurs sur les cabinets d’avocats spécialisés et permettre à ceux-ci d’assister aux entretiens « Dublin ».

5Par exemple, en 2015, le nombre de demandes (première demandes et demandes multiples) était de 1,313 en Janvier et a atteint 5,512 en Septembre

6Nous entendons par là un regroupement de l’enregistrement auprès de l’ODE et du questionnaire que l’OE doit remplir pour le Commissariat Général aux Réfugiés et Apatrides (CGRA) (voir étape 4)

3
Séjour dans un centre d’accueil (4 à 8 mois)

Adnan doit maintenant s’enregistrer au bureau de l’agence fédérale pour l’accueil des demandeurs d’asile (Fedasil). Il subit un examen médical puis Fedasil lui alloue de manière aléatoire une place dans un nouveau centre en province du Luxembourg.

Il s’y rend et y séjourne plusieurs mois en attendant son entretien au Commissariat Général aux Réfugiés et Apatrides (CGRA). Les conditions du centre sont parfois difficiles car il partage son dortoir avec plusieurs autres demandeurs. Pour l’aider à comprendre la procédure et l’état de son dossier, Adnan est soutenu par un assistant social malheureusement débordé ; il peut aussi suivre des cours de langues. Il ne peut pas travailler avant 4 mois, n’a pas beaucoup d’argent pour sortir du centre (il reçoit 7 euros par semaine) et les activités manquent si bien qu’Adnan voit parfois des bagarres éclater.

Problèmes
  • Les conditions peuvent être difficiles dans les centres non gérés directement par Fedasil, en particulier les centres d’accueil d’urgence récemment ouverts qui n'ont pas ou peu d'expérience dans l'accueil de demandeurs d'asile7.
  • L’assistance est souvent sous-optimale car les assistant(e)s sociaux et interprètes sont débordé(e)s avec plus de dossiers à gérer que prévus (les normes prévoient ~40 dossiers pour les assistants).
  • L’inoccupation mène à des tensions et les activités à l’extérieur du centre sont souvent financièrement hors de portée. Les demandeurs d’asile sans argent sont bloqués au centre où les « services communautaires » sont rémunérés à hauteur de 1 euro par heure.
  • Les cours de langues ne sont pas systématiquement dispensés dans tous les centres d’accueil – ce n’est pas dans la mission de Fedasil.
Solutions
  • Privé
  • Overheid
  • Burgers

Harmoniser les normes d'hébergement au sein des centres non structurels, particulièrement les centres qui ouvrent et en accroître significativement la fréquence d'audit ; favoriser la conversion du parc d’accueil vers des structures d’accueil individuelles8 ; permettre aux résidents de s’exprimer collectivement à travers un conseil de résidents.

Améliorer l’accompagnement et l’aide à l’intégration des demandeurs, par exemple :

  • Elargir et systématiser l’accès aux cours de langue et réviser leur structure pour les rendre immédiatement utiles dans la procédure d’asile et le parcours professionnel futur
  • Subsidier le développement ou l’achèvement de portails en ligne accessibles via smartphone offrant des informations générales sur la procédure d’asile, de cours/traducteurs de langue et de conseils d’intégration (comme par exemple l’application 'Ankommen' en Allemagne9)

A l’instar des Pays-Bas, formaliser comme mission publique et renforcer:

  • les échanges informels de type tutorat/mentorat/activités sportives entre des bénévoles locaux et des résidents des centres pour permettre un échange culturel, linguistique et sportif (comme par exemple l'initiative Singa Langue et Culture ou Singa Sports en France)
  • l’intervention d’associations externes aux centres pour renforcer l’accompagnement social lorsque nécessaire, et pour déployer des ateliers de formations et des activités ludiques
  • Soutenir et déployer une plateforme pour l’emploi (« Workeer » en Allemagne) permettant de mettre en relation les offres d’emploi des entreprises locales et les résidents des centres dès que ceux-ci bénéficient d’un permis de travail
  • Augmenter la majoration financière pour les services communautaires rendus pour être en ligne avec le salaire horaire minimum

7La majorité des centres répondent ou surpassent les normes internationales et fournissent plusieurs services. Dans certains centres non gérés directement par Fedasil toutefois, ethnies et nationalités différentes, ainsi qu’adultes et mineurs (MENA) sont rassemblés dans les mêmes dortoirs, ce qui mène à des tensions entre communautés et à des mineurs vulnérables. Il arrive que les convocations pour le suivi du dossier n’arrivent pas, que le suivi social de soit pas en place, que les contacts avec les avocats soient difficiles et que les services de base (nourriture et logement) ne soient pas entièrement assurés.

8Les structures individuelles sont des logements unifamiliaux pour une famille ou un individu (appartement, petite maison) qui permettent au demandeur de vivre au sein d’une communauté locale et d’interagir avec celle-ci et d’ainsi faciliter son intégration

9L’application 'Ankommen' en Allemagne, lancée par les autorités, offre des cours de langues basiques, des informations sur la procédure d'asile, des conseils pour trouver un travail/une formation professionnalisant, des informations sur les valeurs et normes sociales du pays et des forums.

4
Entretien au CGRA pendant le séjour (1 jours à plusieurs mois)

Toujours en centre, Adnan reçoit après 4 mois une convocation pour son audition au CGRA à 8h30 du matin à Bruxelles. Il part en train la veille au soir et dort dans la rue pour être à l’heure. Via un interprète qu’il ne connaît pas, Adnan est interrogé pendant 4h sur son origine et son parcours pour vérifier s’il est éligible au statut de réfugié ou à la protection subsidiaire. Une fois l’entretien terminé, il repart en train au centre. Sa déclaration étant jugée incomplète par le CGRA pour statuer, il est à nouveau convoqué par courrier pour une audition supplémentaire trois semaines plus tard.

Problèmes
  • Délai des dossiers : le temps entre l’enregistrement à l’Office des Etrangers et la convocation au CGRA varie entre 3 mois et plusieurs années selon les dossiers, entre autres à cause de l’important arriéré (6.800 dossiers en décembre 2015).
  • Gestion des convocations : l’heure de convocation aux auditions ne prend pas en considération la distance entre le centre d’accueil et le CGRA, les auditions commencent en retard à cause de double rendez-vous. Le demandeur ne trouve pas de logement d’accueil pour la nuit.
  • Il y a un roulement important des agents de protection qui mènent les auditions, érodant l’expertise au sein du Commissariat.
Solutions
  • Overheid

Améliorer la gestion des dossiers du CGRA en établissant un délai limité entre la première et la seconde audition et en optimisant la gestion du planning des auditions.

Mettre en place une « task force » pour résorber définitivement l’arriéré structurel des dossiers.

Informer les demandeurs et leur permettre de loger en centres d’accueil existant s’ils doivent passer la nuit à Bruxelles avant une audition.

Mettre en place des procédures de gestion de personnel adaptées au sein du CGRA pour prévenir les surcharges et gérer de manière anticipée les départs au sein du CGRA.

5
Décision du CGRA (1 à plusieurs mois)

Trois mois après son second entretien, Adnan reçoit une lettre pour lui signifier la décision du CGRA : il a reçu le statut de protection subsidiaire et un titre de séjour provisoire. Adnan est rassuré. Il demande à l’assistant(e) social(e) du centre comment procéder. Il va chercher sa carte de séjour à la commune, ce qui prend du temps car Adnan a encore des difficultés à s’exprimer en français. Il doit aussi suivre obligatoirement un parcours d’intégration gratuit qui l’aide à acquérir les connaissances de base sur le fonctionnement de la société en Belgique. Cela l’aide beaucoup.

Problèmes
  • Le délai de maximum 3 mois entre la dernière audition au CGRA et la décision n’est pas de rigueur, menant à des délais parfois longs.
  • Si la décision du CGRA est négative (refus du statut de réfugié ou de la protection subsidiaire), le demandeur introduit souvent un recours devant une juridiction ad-hoc : la chambre francophone (le CCE) ou néerlandophone (le RVV)10. La décision finale varie selon les régimes linguistiques.
  • Quelle que soit la décision, cette procédure peut être longue en raison de la charge de travail accumulée de cette juridiction et du manque de concertation, de coordination et d’échange d’informations non sensibles (informations générales du pays, données, fiches) entre le CGRA et ces instances.
  • Les cours de langue, première barrière à l’intégration, ne sont pas obligatoires dans le parcours d’intégration en Wallonie.11.
Solutions
  • Overheid

Se tenir au délai prévu de 3 mois maximum pour rendre la décision.

Définir de manière plus stricte l’interprétation du recours pour éviter des variations importantes dans la décision du recours selon le rôle linguistique.

Pousser les représentants du CGRA et du CCE/RVV à convenir de mécanismes de coordination plus efficaces, à échanger les informations des dossiers et à leur accorder le crédit nécessaire à défaut d’informations contradictoires.

Rendre les cours de langues obligatoires dans le parcours d’intégration en Wallonie et à Bruxelles et les adapter aux besoins immédiats.

10Le Conseil du Contentieux des Etrangers pour les cas francophones ; le De Raad voor Vreemdelingenbetwistingen pour les cas néerlandophones.

11 La formation linguistique fait partie de la seconde phase, non-obligatoire, du parcours d’intégration en Wallonie

6
Début de la vie en Belgique

Adnan est inquiet : après avoir reçu la décision favorable du CGRA, le centre lui a notifié qu’il avait deux mois pour le quitter et trouver un logement privé. Il est contraint de rester au centre plus longtemps qu’autorisé car il ne parvient pas à trouver de logement : il ne maîtrise pas encore assez la langue française, n’a pas d’économies pour constituer la garantie locative et ne comprend pas les démarches à faire.

On lui parle du CPAS, mais celui-ci ne le reçoit pas tant qu’il n’est pas domicilié dans la commune. Il accepte des logements temporaires précaires chez des connaissances en échange de services. Se lancer dans une nouvelle vie en Belgique est difficile : il ne saisit pas les bases de la vie au quotidien en Belgique et il doit se résoudre à des emplois mal payés dans l’économie informelle.

Problèmes
  • Il existe un vide juridique dans l’accompagnement au logement : outre quelques structures de soutien existantes, les réfugiés ne peuvent ni faire appel à l’accompagnateur du centre car il le quitte, ni bénéficier du soutien du CPAS car il n’est pas encore domicilié. Or les conditions et les démarches pour trouver un toit rendent l’accès quasiment impossible ; les réfugiés résident ainsi plus longtemps aux centres malgré les pressions de ces derniers pour qu’ils le quittent.
  • L’insertion professionnelle est rendue difficile : les diplômes étrangers ne sont pas facilement reconnus par la Belgique sans attestation, or celle-ci est généralement longue – voire impossible - à transmettre depuis le pays d’origine. Les entreprises appliquent des critères sévères vis-à-vis des réfugiés ou requièrent systématiquement d’être bilingue français- néerlandais ou d’être détenteur d’un diplôme européen alors que l’emploi ne l’exige pas.
  • Il existe peu de programmes d’intégration sociale et communautaire subsidiés au-delà du parcours d’intégration ; or créer des liens sociaux avec la communauté belge permet de pratiquer la langue et d’obtenir plus rapidement un emploi.
Solutions
  • Privé
  • Overheid
  • Burgers

Faciliter le passage du statut de demandeur d'asile à celui de réfugié reconnu via la publication, à inclure mais non exclusive au parcours d’intégration, d'un « get started kit » en plusieurs langues, clarifiant les premières démarches administratives et les ressources clés.

Faciliter la recherche d'un logement pour le réfugié en institutionnalisant et subsidiant les fonds d’aide à la garantie locative et invitant les CPAS à aider à la recherche et l’accès au logement même si le réfugié n’est pas encore domicilié dans la commune ; formaliser le plan d’accueil dans les communes et s’assurer d’un encadrement social par le CPAS lors de l’accueil.

Pérenniser financièrement une plateforme citoyenne qui organiserait la rencontre entre les réfugiés et les citoyens désireux d’offrir un hébergement et qui informerait ces derniers (comme par exemple l’initiative « Refugees welcome », les plateformes en ligne en développement dans les associations ou la campagne logements de Caritas International).

Créer ou étendre un réseau d’accueil supervisé qui permet une immersion temporaire (maximum 6 mois) pour les réfugiés qui sont mal logés ou sans domicile fixe (comme l’initiative CALM ou « Comme A La Maison » en France) ; répliquer l’initiative gastvrijegemeente.be et Pleegzorg Vlaanderen en Wallonie et à Bruxelles pour la mise en place d’un réseau de familles d’accueil et d’accompagnement dans les communes.

A travers la FEB et le VDAB, conscientiser les entreprises à l’emploi des réfugiés, déployer une information complète sur les opportunités à l’emploi/au mentorat pour les réfugiés et déployer des plateformes comme hiapp.be du VDAB pour la mise en relation des réfugiés avec des employeurs et les citoyens.

Revoir les critères et exigences de la reconnaissance des diplômes pour les réfugiés, en prenant en compte la situation du pays d’origine et la difficulté d’obtention des preuves requises.